The stability checklist: An overview

Whilst on a BEPCymru course on Bipolar disorder and strategies of how to cope with it, I first discovered the stability checklist. 

Each letter of STABILITY stands for an element to be aware of where Bipolar is concerned. So:

Sleep (make sure you get enough)

Treatments (Don’t miss taking the tablets)

Alcohol (Remember not to overdo it and Avoid recreational drugs

Be positive (There is lots you can do to keep well)

Illness (Get help sooner not later)

Lifestyle (Follow a regular routine)

Inform (Yourself and your family about Bipolar disorder)

Triggers (What makes you more likely to relapse?)

You ( Can take control of your illness)

 

On a regular basis I am going to pick one aspect of the checklist to discuss and think about. This way I become better aware of how I can help myself and hopefully in the process pass on what I’ve learnt to others. What do you think of the Stability checklist? Do you think it could help you to understand and treat your illness better? Feel free to leave comments. I look forward to hearing from you. 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About brokenglassshimmers

I’m 30 and have BPD and arthritis. This website will detail how I deal with my health issues, reading and writing. I am in the process of writing books and I will keep you posted about how that is going. I also want to run an online book club and writer’s circle. Please feel free to comment on the site and to let me know if there are any improvements or changes you would like to see. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me.

Leave a comment

Steve Rose, PhD

Gain Long-term Freedom From Addiction

Wandering Thru The Wilderness

Moments to find myself

And Just a Touch of Crazy

Confessions of a Bipolar Girl

srstanyon

This blog is my efforts to end stigma around mental illness and for me to explore my diagnoses in writing. My wish is to make people aware how common mental illness is and that being diagnosed with a mental illness doesn't mean your life is worthless.

Soul Sincerity

Heartfelt Reflection For A Beautiful Life

Sue' s considered trifles

Where she discusses sayings including "the cat’s pajamas"

Kitt O’Malley

Bipolar Writer and Mental Health Advocate

Despair to Deliverance

A True Story of Triumph Over Severe Mental Illness